How I Care For My Long Hair!

So, if you haven’t realised I’ve got quite long hair – ever since I was little I’ve had quite a lot of hair. Not only is it long, it’s also very thick but I love it. I thought I would share how I look after it and you could always add some ideas in the comments! img_8618
To start, obviously I shampoo and condition it and I do this in either the bath or shower. I mostly use The brand Aussie which I love, especially the conditioner that leaves it feeling so smooth. I wash my hair every 2-3 days to stop it drying out too much at the ends. I try to avoid using too much shampoo, just a 50p sized blob. I wash the roots and rinse it through to the ends, then condition the mid-lengths and ends. 20170619_171442602_iOS

Some extra products I like to use before and after washing are the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer and Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Balm. The Elasticizer makes your hair shiny and healthy looking whilst the Wonder Balm makes it bliss to style and also gives it a healthy sheen.img_8878img_8877
I like to minimise the amount of heat I put on my hair but when I want to smooth out any annoying kinks, I use the GHD Platinum hair straighteners. I can do my hair in 5-10 minutes and it will look and feel so gorgeously straight. Sometimes I use the Mark Hill Give It To Me Straight styling spray to protect my hair from the heat and keep it straighter for longer.IMG_9478
My all time fave hair product has to be the Josh Wood Hair Oil as it repairs, smooths and makes my hair feel lovely every time I use it. It also smells amazing and doesn’t leave residue in your hands – in fact, it feels good rubbing it into your hands as well!20161228_134537000_iOS

Another much-loved product is my Elnett hair spray which keeps everything in pin perfect shape but brushes out easily at the end of a day.20170624_083750609_iOS
I like using soft brushes in my hair (mostly because they hurt less!) and my favourite is probably my Denman brush. I have a small one to take around in my bag for out and about tidying, but I also have a full-sized one which does the job somewhat better. I also use a plain wooden one which is soft but more effective if I get any bad knots – I have absolutely no idea where it came from as I’ve had it since I was about 3.20170624_083914853_iOS
There’s not much more I do except I blow dry it sometimes if I want to put the effort in, and if I brush it with my Denman brush at the same time I can dry it really quickly (like 10mins!) and it leaves me with completely straight and smooth hair. I use the GHD hairdryer on hot, then finish with the cool setting for shine.20161112_145225000_iOS
If you have long hair I hope you can relate to this, or get some ideas but most of all enjoy having healthy gorgeous hair! 💆👸🏼

Love Jasmine xx

One thought on “How I Care For My Long Hair!

Leave a Reply

